Louisiana House of Representatives
House and Governmental Affairs Committee  
Committee Staff

Select Another Cmte

Committee Member Addresses
Committee Rules  
Name Position District Party
Burns, Timothy G. Chairman 89 R
Danahay, Michael E. Vice Chair 33 D
Arnold, Jeffery "Jeff" Member 102 D
Barras, Taylor F. Member 48 R
Berthelot, John A. Member 88 R
Bouie, Joseph Member 97 D
Gaines, Randal L. Member 57 D
Johnson, Mike Member 8 R
Miller, Gregory A. Member 56 R
Pugh, Stephen E. Member 73 R
Schroder, John M. Member 77 R
Kleckley, Chuck Ex Officio 36 R
Leger, Walt III Ex Officio 91 D
House Rule 6.3.C(1) states that the Speaker and Speaker Pro Tempore of the House shall be ex officio members of all standing committees.

House & Governmental Affairs Committee Jurisdiction

To this committee shall be referred, in accordance with the rules, all legislative instruments, messages, petitions, memorials, and other matters relating to the following subjects:

  • Affairs of the House.
  • Legislative rules and procedures.
  • Expenditures of funds by the Legislature.
  • Services of or for the House and/or its committees and members.
  • Assignment of space in state buildings, including space for legislative needs.
  • Rules or laws enacted to reorganize the Legislature or executive branches of government.
  • Intergovernmental relations between the state and the United States or other states.
  • The capitol building and all other buildings for general services at the state capital, including capitol parking.
  • Maintenance and care of capitol complex buildings.
  • Employees of the House.
  • House Legislative Services Council.
  • Legislative Auditor.
  • Legislative Fiscal Officer.
  • Civil Service.
  • Creation of all legislative committees.
  • Elections, state political parties and their committees.
  • Registrars of voters and their records.
  • Governmental ethics.
  • Apportionment of elected officials and governing bodies.

Proposals for interim study by a committee, after initial consideration in committee of subject matter, if different from House and Governmental Affairs.


Legislature    Senate    Governor


  |  (225) 342-6945  |  Facebook  |  Site Map  |  Accessibility  |  Privacy & Security  |  Box 94062  (900 North Third Street)  Baton Rouge, Louisiana  70804